Dr. Ravi Fotedar

[ Conference Co-Chair ]

BSc(H), MSc., M.Phil., PhD., MBA
Curtin University

Ravi Fotedar’s expertise is in Sustainable Aquaculture, both marine and freshwater. After completing Master of Philosophy degree in Aquaculture from the University of Delhi, India in 1986, Ravi has first-hand experience in dealing with all aspects of aquaculture sustainability issues, including sustainable production, environmental impacts of aquaculture, post-harvest handling/processing, value addition/quality assurance of seafood (SQF – Safe Quality Food), international marketing, and project management.  As a manager of seafood business with Tata Exports, Ltd, Ravi developed close business relationships with multinational companies (San Miguel, Philippines; CP, Thailand; Frigoscandia, Sweden and Neptune Fisheries, USA). All these companies are leaders in aquaculture and seafood processing. Ravi’s role in these companies ranged from technical advisor/consultant to business development manager.

Ravi migrated to Perth in 1992 and completed his PhD in aquaculture nutrition and then MBA, both from the Curtin University, while working as a Fish Hatchery Manager with the University.

Ravi’s expertise is in production biology of aquaculture species, which is enforced by his research in aquaculture nutrition. Ravi’s main research areas include a) investigating various feed-additives in fish-diets for improved immunocompetence and sustainability; b) nutrient recycling in integrated aquaculture systems and c) physiological adaptations of aquatic species when reared in inland saline waters and d) use of biotechnological innovations to improve the water quality. All these research areas are aimed at improving the sustainability of aquaculture industry. Currently Ravi is focussing on the use of biotechnological innovations to improve the productivity of aquaculture through sustainable and environmentally friendly means, which also involves the use of custom-made feed additives including pre and probiotics as an alternative to antibiotics in the aquaculture industry. Ravi has a PhD degree in marron nutrition and several peer-reviewed publications on marron aquaculture.

While working as an academic in Curtin University, Ravi has successfully completed various international (Vietnam – funded by AusAid: Indonesia – commercial funding) and domestic projects in aquaculture. He has successfully supervised more than 40 higher degree research (HDR) students to completion. Currently, he is supervising another 9 HDR students. His students have acquired the most competitive jobs in the field of aquaculture. He has also established a new post graduate course in Sustainable Aquaculture in Curtin University. Ravi currently enjoys active collaborations with the Institute of Oceanography, Vietnam, Aquaculture Research Institute #1, Vietnam, Diponegoro University, Indonesia and DURACK, Geraldton, WA, Central Institute of Fisheries Education, Mumbai, India.

 Ravi has more than 100 peer-reviewed journal articles in international journals and has published a book on “Recent advances and new Species in Aquaculture” and a manual for marron farmers.

Current Areas of Interest:


  • Formulating ecologically sustainable formulated feed for aquaculture industry
  • Using recent biotechnological innovations to improve water quality of the production systems
  • Improving the immunocompetence of aquatic species to reduce reliance on antibiotics and chemicals
  • Setting up of environment-friendly fish production systems
  • Conducting R and D activities in different areas of aquaculture (including post-harvest and shelf-life of aquatic products)

aquaculture conference

Dr. Krishna R. Salin

[ Conference Co-Chair ]

Associate Professor and Program Chair
Aquaculture and Aquatic Resources Management (AARM)
Asian Institute of Technology (AIT)

Dr. Krishna. R. Salin has been active in the aquaculture industry as a researcher, entrepreneur, and academic for over 22 years. He is currently an Associate Professor, teaching/supervising postgraduate students, and coordinating the Aquaculture and Aquatic Resources Management (AARM) Program at Asian Institute of Technology (AIT), Thailand as its Chair.
His current research focus is on innovative aquaculture technologies, applied genetics for stock improvement, and hatchery management of fish and shrimp. His research experience includes development of novel biofloc technologies for finfish and shellfish, genetic diversity studies on Indian and Sri Lankan prawns (Endeavour Award, Govt. of Australia – postdoctoral research at QUT, Brisbane); characterization of growth-promoting genes in farmed prawns (CREST Award, Department of Biotechnology, Govt. of India – Visiting Fellow at QUT, Brisbane); innovative aquaculture technologies for water conservation and safe discharge of effluents from shrimp farming (DST, India); and genetic characterization and stock improvement of tilapia in Thailand (AIT).
Dr. Salin is a Technical Consultant or Hon. Advisorto several national and international organizations (Ananda Group, India; Msingi East Africa; and Organic Sensus, Germany, among them). Current projects/assignments include the ERASMUS+ GeoServices-4-Sustainability (2015-18), co-funded by the European Commission; and Sustainable Aquaculture Development for East Africa, funded by DFID, UK. He has also organized a series of international workshops, conferences, and capacity building programs on aquaculture at AIT. He is a Visiting Professor at the Shanghai Ocean University, China; and Universidad Juárez Autónoma de Tabasco (UJAT) – one of the biggest public universities in Mexico; and Associate Editor of the Journal Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences, published by Springer Nature; and Aquaculture and Fisheries, published by Elsevier.

aquaculture conference

Dr. Rohana Subasinghe


Honorary Life Member of the World Aquaculture Society
President-Elect of the World Aquaculture Society – Asia Pacific Chapter (WAS-APC).
Retired Chief of FAO Aquaculture Service
Managing Director, Future Fish
Sri Lanka

Be our Session Chair

Write to Ms. Maheesha Dilshani : with your short bio-data

Scientific Reviewers

The Scientific Committee consists of the experts in the field from many different countries in the world. The Committee Members evaluate your abstracts and provide insights to improve those further. According to the final decision given by them, you would be able to process further tasks for attending the conference.


Scientific Committee

Conference convener

aquaculture conferenceMr. Isanka Gamage
The International Institute of Knowledge Management (TIIKM), Sri Lanka
Hotline: +94 715 589 870 / +94 777 379 779
TP: +94 112044485

Main Conference Coordinator

Conference Secretariat : Ms. Amaya Sumanaratne
Tel: +94 112044480/ Ext.6103
Fax: +94 112 873 371
Hotline: +94 76 573 3737